May. 23, 2016 | Press Releases

Watch Live: First Day of Talks at the 2016 Oslo Freedom Forum

OSLO (May 24, 2016) — Talks at the 2016 Oslo Freedom Forum (OFF) begin this morning at 9:30 Central European Time (3:30am EST, 12:30am PST). All talks will be streamed live at oslofreedomforum.com, in central Oslo’s Spikersuppa Square, and at nearby Nordic entrepreneurship center MESH. A full schedule of events is available here

At OFF we will hear from activists, dissidents, business leaders, journalists, policymakers, and technologists who are united by a common vision of making the world a more peaceful, prosperous, and free place.

Today’s speakers will cover a range of topics including: empowerment through tech training, the role of corruption in the rise of extremism, the increasing threats to press freedom, the global struggle for democracy, and challenging authoritarianism through art and culture. Speakers come from different backgrounds and regions of the world, but they have one thing in common: they are all catalysts. This year’s theme celebrates changemakers who are starting movements around the world – we invite you to join us.

Follow @OsloFF on Twitter and Instagram and use the hashtags #OsloFF and #catalysts. Your voice is essential to this conversation.